Or email me directly at:

Please scroll down for more information.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle



Whether you've recorded your tracks in a professional studio or in your bedroom, I am an experienced mixing engineer who can turn your raw recordings into exciting, dynamic, label quality mixes. I specialise in a range of styles within the rock and metal sub-genres, from ambient post rock to full-on death and black metal, incorporating both modern and classic production approaches. But, more importantly than that, I have the breadth and depth of experience to make the mix sound how YOU want it to sound.

My mixing packages can also include the following additional services:

- editing and comping of vocals, guitars and drums;

- guitar/ bass re-amping;

- drum sample replacement;

- adding orchestration, synths or special FX;

- session guitar and bass recording.


I am passionate about making amazing-sounding music with creative individuals, and endeavour to be affordable to all. Whatever your budget,  I can offer a package for you. 

For more information on how I can help you make your music rock, click on the button below:


If mixing is the creative side of music production, mastering is the technical side. Essentially, it is the process of ensuring that your music sounds as good as possible across a range of listening devices (HiFis, iPhones, Bluetooth speakers, car systems etc). 


If you've mixed your music already, I can help add the finishing touches to prepare your music for release.

Mastering involves reviewing the mixing and addressing any imbalances or issues in the following areas:

- general clarity and separation;

- EQ;

- dynamics;

- loudness. 

Whilst mastering is less of a subjective process than mixing, I still master exactly to your requirements. You want it loud as hell? No problem. Or you want to keep it punchy and dynamic? We can do that too!

I can master exclusively for streaming/ downloads, or for CD and Vinyl release as well. 

For more information on my mastering services, click the button below:


If you want the peace of mind of having your music professionally recorded, but don't have the budget to hire a recording studio, I offer an affordable alternative: the mobile recording studio!

I can bring my recording equipment to a convenient location of your choice.


Or if you still prefer the DIY option, but don't know where to begin, I can advise you in how to get your own home studio properly set up for professional quality results, whatever your budget!

For more information on how I can help you record your music, click on the button below:

Logic Waveform.jpg


Here you can listen to a selection of tracks that have been produced at Twelve Tone Studio



I'm Tom MacLean, founder of Twelve Tone Studio. When I'm not working as a mixing engineer, I'm a musician, composer and producer.

I started out in the music world back in 2005 after finishing a Jazz Guitar Diploma at Trinity College of Music. My first 'proper' band was To-Mera, a progressive metal band for whom I played lead guitar, wrote and recorded 3 albums (2 for Candlelight Records), and opened for bands like Dream Theater, Pain of Salvation and Emperor.

From 2007-2013 I was the bassist for epic proggers Haken, with whom I also recorded 3 albums (2 on Sensory Records, 1 on Inside Out) and played some cool tours and festivals.

Since stepping back from the touring life I have worked on a number of side projects, including a metal project called Psion, and have gradually turned my focus towards the production aspect of music. I have completed my professional certification in audio engineering from HOFA-College in Germany.



  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2020 by Tom MacLean. Proudly created with